December 1, 2011

Social Media Forensic Resources

Posted in Best practices, Courts and social media, Criminal activity, Uncategorized tagged at 5:23 pm by bizlawblog

'Library visitor' photo (c) 2007, umjanedoan - license: http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0/I just finished the last of six seminar sessions for the Kentucky Bar Association on social media forensics and ethics. My part of the material is available here: Who is the Most Popular Lawyer Now? Social Media Ethics Issues for Lawyers

Unfortunately, when my colleagues on the program and I completed the written portion of the material we produced for the program, we were limited in the number of pages we could submit for publication, since this was going in a “book” that the KBA produces by the thousands. We all wanted to include resources to go along with the material, but simply didn’t have the room.

Since we’re now finished with the last of the sessions we did for the program, this seems like a good time to start coughing up some resources. To that end, I’ve just updated the links on the right side of this blog, to include 50+ blogs related to forensics. Many, but not necessarily all of the links at the bottom of the blogroll, under the category of Social Media Forensics, do have something to do with this. Some, however, are more focused on computer forensics, or particular forensics areas not necessarily related to social media or social networking per se.  Since these are relatively narrow resources, I have not included all of them in the more generalized social media blogroll.

Please let me know if you find any of these links broken. I would especially appreciate it if you could send me links and comments about any other sites you discover, which might be of help to those interested in social media forensics. I’ll be glad to add them to the list as a repository for those hungry for such information.

From time-to-time, I’ll try to find a way to increase the repository of resources related to social media forensics. If you didn’t notice, I recently updated the Excel spreadsheet, where I’ve been cataloging many of the more interesting social media articles I’ve come across. You can find this down on the right hand column of this blog, in the Box.net utility. There are currently over 1,000 articles listed there, related to social media. I’ve tried to include publication data, a link to the material, as well as tags, such as forensics, meta, etc.

I also curate quite a bit about social media forensics, and my Twitter feed should appear in the right hand column of this blog. I also invite anyone interested in this area to join the group I started on LinkedIn: Social Media Search and Forensics.

If you’re a looking for material for lawyers on social media, I’ve created a page on my law firm’s Web site related to this, and at the bottom of the resource page, I’ve started adding links to materials that might help. You can also, of course, find a primer on how not to handle social media in litigation, by reading some of the orders and articles on the recently decided Virginia case, Lester v. Allied Concrete Co. – Nos. CL.08-150, CL09-223 (Va. Cir. Ct. Sept. 1, 2011); Lester v. Allied Concrete Co., Nos. CL08-150, CL09-223 (Va. Cir. Ct. Oct. 21, 2011). In case you missed it, this is the one where a Virginia state judge ordered lawyer Matthew Murray (then managing partner of the Charlottesville office of the largest personal injury firm in Virginia, Allen, Allen, Allen & Allen, P.C., past president of the Charlottesville-Albemarle Bar Assoc. and serving as the president of the Virginia Trial Lawyers Association) to pay $522,000 for instructing his client to remove photos from his Facebook profile, and for his client to pay an additional $180,000 for obeying the instructions.

Leave a Reply

